Non Weigh In Status

What is it about the numbers on a little tiny machine that rule the lives of so many women? I’m obsessed with the scale. I know it’s not good nor is it healthy. Those numbers don’t define me. They don’t change who I am.

Logically, I know this but can someone please explain to me why I am so concerned with those numbers? Why will I beat myself up if those numbers on the scale aren’t where I want them to be?

It’s so frustrating to be so addicted to something and know it’s not good. I’ve made progress. I feel it. I see it! In fact, I had a pretty good victory this weekend.

I went to a local plus size store and got measured for a new bra. Every girl will tell you that when they lose weight, typically the boobs are the first to go. I’m not blessed in that department to begin with, so it was the last place I wanted to lose! So imagine my delight when I found that I’m down a size in the band but not in the cup. I am THISCLOSE to being able to shop at Victoria’s Secret. This makes me happier than I can possibly tell you. So VS will likely be the first “skinny girl” store I will be able to shop at. I’m really looking forward to it! 🙂

Okay- so back to my original rant… The scale. Ultimately I don’t have a number that I want in the end. After I lose 100 pounds it’s all about how I feel and how I look to me. If I’m happy being a size 14, then I’ll be happy at a size 14. If it’s a size 10, then that’s okay too. My diet and exercise are not the only thing that’s changing. My self esteem is too.

So here’s what I say- if I don’t weigh in every other week, the world isn’t going to end. I’m not going to spontaneously combust. I’ll still be working on me. What I hope will happen is that I will learn more and more that those numbers are not the end of the world. With or without that, I’m becoming a better version of myself.

**Wednesday night, my trainer Angie and I are taking my measurements for the first time since October. I can’t wait to see how they have changed!**

One response to “Non Weigh In Status

  1. The numbers issue is why I don’t keep a scale in the house. If I did, I’d be on it three times a day and beating myself up 6 times a day for what they show.

    I think measurements and how you feel/how your clothes feel on you is a great way to go. Your body is changing in countless ways, don’t tie that all back to a set of numbers.

    So proud of you!

    Like

Leave a Reply

