My Love Affair

You will find that as I go on this journey, I will talk a lot about my love affair… With food. I love food. I am also an emotional eater. I have a sweet tooth and I will eat any carb!

This is how I have gotten where I am.

I have a love/hate relationship with food. I love it so much but then I hate it because a lot of the foods that I love are horrible for me. I have slowly started to find alternatives for the foods that I love that are healthier. For instance, I have been craving pizza. I’m not a big pizza eater, but I like it every now and then. Thanks to Pinterest I found an alternative that didn’t have a crust! I used a couple of pieces of Canadian bacon, a little bit of pizza sauce, pineapple chunks, and 2% reduced fat mozzarella cheese. Bake this in a muffin tin and it’s like guiltless pizza. I also made buffalo roasted cauliflower today.

One thing that I have to come to terms with is that I am an emotional eater… Especially when I am upset. When I went through my breakups with my ex (many of you know they were messy and many!!), my first instinct was to turn to food. I’ve never met a cupcake I didn’t like! Although I consciously knew what I was doing, I physically could not stop myself. It’s like a drug.

I’ve been doing really well these last two weeks. I’m in a much happier headspace, so I haven’t had the urge to run to food. I have also cut soda completely. I don’t even have a craving for it. It’s amazing the things that we think we can’t live without, then realize we don’t miss it.

I think the biggest part of this whole journey is realizing food isn’t the enemy and I shouldn’t be afraid of it.

Leave a Reply

